FMP Pitch

Focus/ concept. My music video will be to the song Lady GaGa Do what U Want Ft Christina Aguilera . Although the song is about the struggles of the celebrity industry and the horror of the press I have interpretated the lyrics in a different way in order to because controversial and interesting which is what Lady GaGa likes to achieve in her music videos. She likes to interoperate sex into her music videos but at the same time have a meaning or logic to the music video which inspires her audience to think.

For my music video I will be splitting the song into 6 sections. This has been split into verse 1, Chorus, Verse 2, Chorus, Bridge and the last chorus. I have 5 different characters in my music video. These characters are all inspired by famous disney characters. The 5 characters I have chosen are Queen Elsa, Ariel, Pinocchio, Snow White and Princess Jasmine. I chose these 5 characters because they are easy to link to the lyrics.

[Verse 1: Lady Gaga]
I feel good, I walk alone
But then I trip upon myself and I fall
I, I stand up, and then I’m okay
But then you print some shit
That makes me want to scream

Verse 1-

[Pre-Chorus: Lady Gaga]
So do what you want
What you want with my body
Do what you want
Don’t stop, let’s party
Do what you want
What you want with my body
Do what you want
What you want with my body

Write what you want
Say what you want ’bout me
If you wanna know that I’m not sorry
Do what you want
What you want with my body
What you want with my body.

For this verse I have chosen to have a dark Queen Elsa miming the lyrics. This is because The lines ‘ do what you want don’t stop this party’ This can be easily linked to the fact her frozen powers are exposed at her coronation party. It can also be linked the the characters storyline with the lyrics ‘Write what you want, Say what you want ’bout me, If you wanna know that I’m not sorry’. This can be linked to the fact that the villain in the film ‘ The Duke of Wesleton’ is constantly after elsa because he wants to expose her secrets. The also tells everyone how evil she is. She could be singing these lyrics to him and the world saying think what you want about me but you can’t have my heart or head.

Chorus-

You can’t have my heart
And you won’t use my mind but
Do what you want with my body
(Do what you want) with my body
You can’t stop my voice cause
You don’t own my life but
Do what you want with my body
(Do what you want) with my body

For this part I have chosen Ariel to be miming the lyrics. This is because you can link two of the lines to the story of the little mermaid. In the film Ursula the Sea Witch who is Ariels Auntie promises to remove Ariels tale and give her the ability to be human instead however In this process removes her voice. However Ariels mind is her own

‘you won’t use my mind but do what you want with my body’ – Ursula can’t have her mind but she can do what you want with her body.

‘You can’t stop my voice cause you don’t own my life’- Ursula stole her voice but Ariel gets it back therefore In a powerful fierce way Ariel is saying you can’t have her voice.

Verse 2-

My bones hurt
From all the shows
But I don’t feel the pain ’cause I’m a pro
I, I sink in
And then I’m ok,
‘Cause my body belongs to you when I’m on stage

I have chosen to have the character Pinocchio because the lyrics can link to his story. In This his story Pinocchio is a puppet who is owned by a clock maker. The owner wishes upon a star that he had a son and therefore over night Pinocchio becomes a real boy, a part human part wooden boy.  He is lured by some villains to become a star however he is used for money and locked up in captivity. The lyrics can link to his story. Lines such as

‘My bones hurt, from all the shows but I don’t feel the pain cause I’m a pro’ –

Pinocchio becomes a star in the film therefore is relating to the struggle of being star and being worked till his bones hurt but in my music video he wants to be a star. The lyrics are sarcastic saying ‘he doesn’t feel the pain because he is famous’ this is irony and it making a point that celebrities have feelings too because they are too human.

The line ‘ cause my body belongs to you when I’m on stage’ can be linked to the fact Pincchio is too on stage and also that now he’s a performer the audience owns him and he is not his own person. This is too irony.

Pinochio, Ariel and Elsa Split Screen. 
So do what you want
What you want with my body
Do what you want (Ooh, do what you want don’t stop let’s party)
Don’t stop, let’s party
Do what you want
What you want with my body
Do what you want
What you want with my body

Write what you want
Say what you want ’bout me
If you wanna know that I’m not sorry
Do what you want
What you want with my body
What you want with my body

Because this part of the song is sang as a duet I will be split screening Elsa, Ariel and Pinocchio to excite the audience because I wanted to symbolise the overlapping in the music on screen.

2nd Chorus-

You can’t have my heart
And you won’t use my mind but
Do what you want with my body
(Do what you want) with my body
You can’t stop my voice cause
You don’t own my life but
Do what you want with my body
(Do what you want) with my body

For this part of the song I have chosen Snow White to mime the lyrics. This is because the chorus can link to her story too. In snow white her evil step mother becomes extremely jealous of her because the evil step mums magic mirror declares snow white to be the fairest in the land meaning she is perfect. This angers the evil step mum and because of this she sends a huntsman to kill Snow White by stabbing her and she wants him to cut out her heart and bring it to her to keep.

You can’t have my heart and you won’t use my mind’ This is Snow White saying that you can’t have her heart or mind meaning you can’t kill her.

You can’t stop my voice cause you don’t own my life but do what you want with my body’ This is Snow White saying to her step mum that she doesn’t own her life and she is her own person. And that she can be mean about her as much as she can but it won’t affect her because she can’t take her voice or life.

Bridge-

Sometimes I’m scared I suppose
If you ever let me go (aah, aah)
I would fall apart (apart)
If you break my heart (ooh)
So just take my body (body)
And don’t stop the party’

For this part of the song I have chosen to have Princess Jasmine mime the lyrics this is also because this part of the song can be linked to her story. In Aladdin, Princess Jasmine is a feisty princess who is being set up to marry a villain, she falls in love with princess aladdin however Aladdin has actually wished a genie to become a princess but however is only a poor Arabian man. In they’re words a ‘Street Rat’ because he steals from markets. The lyrics can link to the story because

‘Sometimes I’m scared I suppose if you ever let me go’ – She doesn’t want the kingdom the judge her if she marries Aladdin.

‘ I would fall apart if you break my heart’- For this she is saying to Aladdin that she would cry and fall apart is he left her.

‘ So just take my body and don’t stop the party’- She is singing this because she is confident in her decision to marry Aladdin and that he can just take her body, meaning she is all his and she is telling the Kingdom to party which is showing she is joyful and excited.

For the final Chorus I will be mixing all 5 characters by split screening in a variety of different angles and shots to appear exciting. This is because its sang as a duet with overlapping riffs so I want to portray this on screen to excite viewers.

The music video will empower woman and also show a more dark, confident powerful side to disney. It will be colourful, inspiring and overall I want the audience to feel wowed after watching it.

Run Time-

The Music Video will be 3 Minutes 36 seconds long because thats how long the song is.

Target Audience-

My Target audience would be 18-24 year olds, aiming at girls. Aiming demographically at

C2, D and E because most people at 18-24 are university students and will be likely to go out to clubs which will most likley be playing Lady Gagas music.

I think my music video will be aiming at  Explorers, Succeeders and Aspirers. This is because my music video could aim at explorers because my music video has 5 different actors dressed up in disney inspired outfits with disney inspired hair and makeup linking them to well known characters from disney movies therefore a younger audieince may recognise and enjoy this music video. It will aim at Succeeders because the music video empowers women and men, but mostly women which may inspire viewers to be more confident and seek control of their lives. Finally, My Music video will aim at aspirers because the music video is highly focused on makeup, fashion and hair which an aspirer may enjoy. Aspirers are materlistic and orientated to image meaning the music video will attratct and aspire them to try out the makeup etc themseleves.

Inspiration – This idea for the music video actually as cliche as it may sound came to me in a dream. I was listening to the song late at night and it led to me dreaming about the song and how cool it would be if I could link the lyrics to something completely different that you wouldn’t think of when listening to the lyrics. One of my practitioners Todrick Hall was my main inspiration for my music video. I have a deep love for his music video to 90’s Disney. I love the colour, exciting split screen shots and the overall aesthetic. From this music video I took costume inspiration, I have taken on the idea of making my own animated backgrounds and have also taken inspiration from how they have split screened it.

Key Conclusions of Research- I researched into similar videos to the one I wanted to make. I learnt how to create a star persona and how to attract an audience without having a narrative. I will be doing this through split screening and keying the screens smaller so they’re multiple screens on at once. I have also looked into how much it would cost me to make the music video which means I can prepare finically. I looked into how other music videos have been made by students in the same box as me. Ive realised through research that I will be ordering a Ring Light because I liked the way it looked on screen. It made the characters faces bright and glowy which I think looked really good and very professional. I researched one music video which looked very unprofessional due to the quality of camera and amateur shots make it look like a student has filmed it. I want my music video to look like a professional production and not some amateur work by a non experienced student. I want to show off what I can do and show off my creative flare.

Production Schedule-

20/02- 24/02 February – complete first part of brief (proposal) Find Actors/ Actresses.

01/03 – March-  Begin Journal entry, begin research into practitioner (Lady Gaga). Present proposal to class.

02/03 – Research into Previous lady gaga music videos and look into her fashion and style of music videos. Research into previous Lady Gaga controversies.

03/03 – 06/03 –  Research into Miley Cyrus, Ariana Grande and Todrick Hall her competition for this music video. Learn how to create a star persona.

08/03 – 10/03 – Write a detailed blog post about my target audience. look into legal and ethical issues that might occur if I made this music video. Write a blog post about budget and costs for this music video and where the money is being spent, and how much it would cost if I was making it for real. ( If I were really working for Lady Gaga )

13/03 – 16/03 – Research concepts and ideas related to music video. aka the press, celebrity break downs etc. Write a blog post about all props, costumes and media equipment I will be using.

17/03 – FMP TEST SHOTS.

18/03 – 23/03  Edit and play around with FMP test shots. Learn how to colour grade and split screen. Try out flying carpet green screen idea.

23/03 – 24/03 – write and finalise pitch, Perform Pitch to class.

27/03 –  29/03 – Create Storyboard for music video and remix music ready to use for FMP.

30/03 – 05/04 – finish music. Buy/ make all costumes and props needed.

06/04 – 07/04 – Write risk assessment and Cast and Crew List.

08/04 – 09/04 – Write a blog post about green screen and my experience with it.

15/04 – 23/04 – Film Bryonys part on the 19th of april 10.45-12.15, Take album cover shots and promotional single shots.

24/04 – 28/04 – Film Taylors, Magdas, Shauna and Harrison. begin animating backgrounds.

1/05- 5/05- finish editing backgrounds and start editing footage. COLOUR GRADE

8/05- 12/05- Editing fmp

15/05-18/05- Editing fmp

19/05- Spend whole day colour grading FMP. Making sure its perfect.

22/05- Take Music Video Cover in TV studio.

23/05- 26/05- Finish evaluation and final major project.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment